Back to Top

ACNP Awards & Scholarships


ACNP Nurse Practioner of the Year

Sponsored by HESTA                                          

This award is presented to a Nurse Practitioner, who is a member of the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners, who has demonstrated outstanding qualities in the areas of clinical work, mentoring and leadership.

Nominations for NP of the Year Award can be made by any persons with whom the nominated NP has had professional contact with, either within or external to, industry.  Using the entry criteria listed below, the nominator is asked to validate the nominee’s worthiness of receiving the ACNP NP of the Year Award.  The nominator may be contacted by the ACNP for clarification.   Entry Criteria
  • The nominee at the time of nomination must be a financial member of the ACNP.
  • Demonstrated excellence in clinical care and patient outcomes.
  • Demonstrated evidence of mentoring and professional leadership to others in the clinical team
  • Evidence of commitment to furthering the aims of ACNP.
  • Other attributes contributing to the worthiness of the award being bestowed.


Nomnations Close Midnight 14th July 2017

2016 winner

2015 winner

2014 winner

  • No applications were made for this award in 2014.

2013 winner

2012 winner


Les Elvin Memorial Indigenous Nurse Practitioner Scholarship




Hunter Primary Care announces the launch of the second round of Indigenous Nurse Practitioner Scholarships for 2017, as part of its commitment to improving the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the Hunter rural region.

The Hunter Primary Care Indigenous Nurse Practitioner Scholarships will fund 90% of the course fees for an Indigenous registered nurse to study a postgraduate Masters of Nursing (Nurse Practitioner) at University.

The objective of the scholarships is to improve the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the Hunter region by increasing the number of skilled Indigenous nurse practitioners working in Aboriginal Health.

FOR MORE INFORMATION download your information form and scholarship application form at the bottom of the page.

Applications NOW OPEN until COB 19 July 2017


ACNP Nurse Practitioner Mentor of the Year     

Sponsored by Australian Medicines Handbook 

The College is excited to release the Inaugural NP Mentor of the Year Award, sponsored by Australian Medicines Handbook. This Award recognises a nurse practitioner who is influencing the education and development of nurse practitioners in Australia through clinical supervision or mentoring.  

FOR MORE INFORMATION and to nominate a NP, please download the form below.

Nominations NOW OPEN until COB 26th June 2017

2016 winner

The Jane O'Connell Scholarship




The “Jane O’Connell Research Scholarship” commenced in 2015 in honour of Dr Jane O’Connell, one of the first endorsed Nurse Practitioners in Australia. 

The scholarship recognises the work done by Jane during the establishment and development of the nurse practitioner role in New South Wales.

This research scholarship is up to the value of $5000 (1 x $5000 or 2 x $2500), to be used for the purpose of research into nurse practitioner practice, with preference given to research proposals that evaluate the outcomes of nurse practitioner practice.

To apply for this scholarship, refer to the Application Form below and Information for Applicants page.  

Applications NOW OPEN until COB 29 June 2017


2016 winner

2015 winner


Quality Use of Medicines Award








Sponsored by Mundipharma                            

Each year the ACNP recognises a Nurse Practitioner/Advanced Practice Nurse who works consistently with consumers with moderate or severe pain to optimise their health and wellbeing.  The ACNP Award for QUM in Pain Management has been supported by an educational grant from Mundipharma Pty Ltd. To be considered for the award your application needs to tell us about strategies you have implemented in your area of practice to contribute to achieving better outcomes for patients.The prize is attendance at the National Conference with all transfer, accommodation and conference registration included; one year's membership of the ACNP.

To apply for this Award, refer to the Application Form below.  

Applications NOW OPEN until COB 21 June  2017


2016 winner

2015 winner

2014 winner

2013 winner


Ollie Scholarship

The 'Ollie' Nurse Practitioner Scholarship is offered by the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners and the Australian College of Nursing.  The scholarship is for an endorsed Nurse Practitioner for the purpose of growing the body of knowledge on the Nurse Practitioner role in Australia.  The scholarship is named in memory of Olwyn Johnston who was appointed as the first practicing nurse practitioner in NSW and Australia in 2001.  Olwyn died in 2006 but her life contribution to remote nursing will be remembered by her radio call sign "by golly….it's Ollie!".

The Award may be used for a course, conference attendance or research, and must relate to the applicant's nurse practitioner role.  The scholarship will be awarded to the applicant who can best demonstrate that the proposed activity will both add to the body of knowledge on nurse practitioner roles and has the potential to improve patient care/outcomes.  The scholarship is up to the value of $5000. Please visit to apply.

Applications NOW CLOSED


2016 winner

2015 winner

2014 winner


ACNP Conference 2016 Scholarship




Sponsored By QUT   

This Scholarship is to support a Registered Nurse who is currently studying to be a Nurse Practitioner to attend the ACNP Conference 2016 in Alice Springs on 30 August - 2 September.  To apply for this Scholarship, complete the Application Form below, telling us in 100 words or less how you would benefit from attending this Conference.  

Applications have now CLOSED                                                                                                           

2016 Winner


ACNP  Fellowships and Honorary Fellowships

For information regarding Fellowship and Honorary Fellowship of the College, and a list of members who hold these awards, please click here.


© 2017 Australian College of Nurse Practitioners. All rights reserved.